A Monster Calls

Ness, P. (2011). A monster calls. Somerville, MA: Candlewick Press.

I chose this book at first because of the name.  I looked it up and the illustration peaked my interest further leading me to read the description.  While reading it I was caught up in the fantasy of it. I honestly had no idea this was adapted into a film, so I’m glad because it kept my interest. It turned out to be a really wonderful book that had me crying by the end. Connor, the main character, dealing with his mom battling cancer really struck a chord with me. It was very relative for me and really resonated with my experience of losing my father to cancer. I strongly would recommend adding this book to teens and even tweens. I think they would enjoy the supernatural part of the book but maybe relate to dealing with loss and grief.  Also, the illustrations are very cool.

Grade level: M-J-S

Quality: 5Q

Popularity: 4P

Appeal Factors: fantasy, character driven, fantasy, fast paced, relative


Dowd, S. (2010).  bog child. David Fickling Books.

After looking up reviews of A Monster Calls on Goodreads I found Bog Child, by Siobhan Dowd. I picked it because she wrote it because Ness wrote A Monster Calls  inspired by an idea she had before she passed. They both have dark settings and the mystery of it can definitely appeal to teens, more so in high school than middle. The difference is that this is more a mystery and in depth than A Monster Calls.

Leave a comment